ISCRM Awards State Funding for Fellows and Pilot Programs

Congratulations to the 2018 ISCRM Undergraduate Summer Fellows Awardees

The ISCRM Undergraduate Summer Fellows program, supported by resources from the State of Washington, are competitive fellowships intended to enhance the educational experiences of undergraduate students at the University of Washington while they are engaged in research guided by UW ISCRM faculty. We hope that with research fellowships, students may focus more attention and time, deepening their inquiry into a discipline or project with a reduced financial burden.

Dan Brewer
Ruohola-Baker Lab

Kira Evitts
Young Lab

Laura Islas
Freedman Lab

Eric Katzung
Kwon Lab

Thomas Khuu
Chao Lab

Anna Klug
Murry Lab

Marcus Rhodehamel
Kim Lab
Honorable Mentions: Li Dai, Reh Lab and Kaiyu Shi, Sniadecki Lab


Congratulations to the 2018 ISCRM Fellows Awardees

The ISCRM Scholars Program, funded by the State of Washington, provides one year of funding for predoctoral and postdoctoral trainees doing research in stem cell and regenerative medicine technologies. Each of the seven scholars selected for the 2018-19 school year, will train under the guidance of one of ISCRM’s excellent faculty mentors. This training will simultaneously enrich the trainee research and education and strengthen the future and innovation of stem cell and regenerative medicine and technology development in the state of Washington.

Predoctoral Awardees

Eileen Brady
Stevens Lab
Molecular and Cellular Biology

Darrian Bugg
Davis Lab

Wes Jenkins
Reh Lab
Molecular and Cellular Biology

Nisa Penland
Kim Lab

Michael Rappleye
Berndt Lab

Postdoctoral Awardees

Shiri Levy, PhD
Ruohola-Baker Lab

Daisy Nakamura, PhD
MacLellan Lab


Congratulations to our Innovation Pilot Award winners

ISCRM is pleased to announce the winners of the Innovation Pilot Award (IPA) program, who are pursuing novel experiments that are directly relevant to stem cell biology or regeneration. The IPA program aims to support innovative research of any current University of Washington’s faculty member of ISCRM and encourages interdisciplinary collaborations. IPA projects are supported by resources from the State of Washington.

Every day, we are helping researchers work toward important scientific discoveries that broaden the scope of our understanding. This year’s winners are:

Andre Berndt, PhDAssistant Professor of Bioengineering

Laura Crisa, MD, PhDAssociate Professor of Medicine/Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition

Benjamin Freedman, PhDAssistant Professor of Medicine/Nephrology

Hannele Ruohola-Baker, PhDProfessor of Biochemistry

Nathan Sniadecki, PhDAssociate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and David Mack, PhD, Associate Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine

Kelly Stevens, PhDAssistant Professor of Bioengineering and Pathology