ISCRM Awards State Funding for Scholars and Pilot Programs

Congratulations to the 2017 ISCRM Scholars and Innovation Pilot Program Awardees

The ISCRM Scholars Program, funded by the State of Washington, is a newly established program that provides one year of funding for predoctoral and postdoctoral trainees doing research in stem cell and regenerative medicine technologies. Each of the six scholars selected for the 2017 school year, will train under the guidance of one of ISCRM’s excellent faculty mentors. This program will not only enrich the trainee’s research experience, but will also strengthen research and technology development within the state of Washington.

Graduate Student Awardees

Kevin Beussman
Sniadecki Lab
Mechanical Engineering

Darrian Bugg
Davis Lab

Jason Miklas
Ruohola-Baker Lab

Nicole Zeinstra
Murry & Zheng Labs

Postdoctoral Awardees

Jesse Macadangdang, PhD
Kim Lab

Akshaya Sridhar, PhD
Reh Lab
Biological Structure
ISCRM is pleased to announce the winners of the newly created Innovation Pilot Award (IPA) program.  Seven awards in the amount of $50,000 each were given out to ISCRM faculty members who are pursuing novel experiments that are directly relevant to stem cell biology or regeneration. The IPA program aims to support innovative multidisciplinary research and is crucial to the faculty receiving them, as data gathered may help in securing larger grants from the NIH and/or other organizations.  The Innovation Pilot Awards program is supported by funding from the state of Washington.

Olivia Bermingham-McDonogh, PhD
Professor, Department of Biological Structure

Vincenzo Cirulli, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine/Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition

Cole A. DeForest, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Julie Mathieu, PhD
Acting Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Carol Ware, PhD
Professor, Department of Comparative Medicine

YiQiang (Ken) Zhang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine/Cardiology

Ying Zheng, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Bioengineering